Scaling Mt. Pico De Loro

If you’re going through hell, keep going. – Winston Churchill

This was my first time conquering Mt. Pico De Loro and I must admit I underestimated this mountain. It’s tougher than I expected – it was exhausting and enervating. And one of the reasons why it’s more arduous to climb is that, the night before our climb it rained hard, making the trail wet and slippery to trek.

So how did I get there? It was 4am in the morning when we departed from the meeting place at Mc Donald’s, El Pueblo Ortigas. And for the second time, I took the package offered by Travel Factor. The day before the climb, I already checked the weather forecast so I made sure that everything was settled. I chose to wear slippers (recommended) for the trek instead of robber shoes and I bought plastic covers to secure my phone and other things inside my bag. The sky was really dark during the climb but despite of it, we continued to ascend.

        Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The lush green environment, the trails covered by trees and the breezy air of Pico De Loro refreshed us during the trek.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After almost 3 hours of taking up and down trail and walking in forever, finally we’re about to reach the summit! The view was hazy but a bit clearer so we grabbed that chance to take a shot in the campsite.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset       Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset       pico       Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The zero visibility during the climb to the summit was a bit challenge for me since I am really acrophobic but there’s no looking back – move up and overcome it again.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset   Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We took a rest on the summit, ate our lunch and prepared ourselves for the final adventure of the day – climbing the Parrot’s beak or monolith. The summit should give you a perfect view of the province of Batangas and Cavite but we saw nothing but fog.

Honestly, I felt edgy when we’re about to climb the monolith, my feet we’re shaking. I asked myself, how are we going to reach that if we see nothing?  But since I was really determined to bring my feet on that peak – I dared to continue.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset     Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The monolith is a large single upright block of stone, I think it stands about 60-70 meters according to our guide. The trail going on top of it was the most challenging part, you have to be very careful with your moves or steps or else you will fall off a cliff.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset                   Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

You know the real feeling behind those pictures – it’s terrifying!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset        Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset           Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The part of the trail that I had to cross over an inclined stone and hang on was one of the most death defying steps to the peak of monolith.

After all the doubts and trembling course, the most rewarding moment was finally achieved – Parrot’s beak!!!

Descending was another question! Haha

396063698532119180315

Leave a Reply

