2016: Dawn of Grit 2.0

“If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine; it is lethal.”
― Paulo Coelho

It has been 5 months since I had my last post in my blog. I was actually not into hiatus at those times; I really decided to make this Dawn of Grit, a 3-versioned project for myself for the entire year. Sounds corny right? But it’s true, and it’s cheesy when its true lol. For me, it’s a philosophical reflections that everything I wrote here since the beginning, made me a better person today (thumbs-down). Indeed – if you write it, and you will it, eventually it will really happen.

Time flies really so fast, next month would be the start of “ber” months and in four months it’s a new banging year again – crazy life. Well, as I mentioned in my previous blog, I would put myself into a great adventure and yes, I did (I guess). So what went down these 8 months that have passed, in continuity?

April 2, 2016 – Rocky Summer: Beach Bumming In Gubat, Sorsogon 

Gubat, Sorsogon’ is now rising as one of the newest surfing destinations in the Philippines. So last April, together with my closest college friends, we headed to Gubat to try its rising surfing attraction. We grabbed our surfboard and rode with the waves @ Lola Sayong Eco-surf camp. Aside from surfing, we really enjoyed doing the usual beach activities and exploring the place.

Every year, we really try to catch up despite of the fact that we’re all busy at our own path now. So as expected, knowing these guys, we really had a blast.

May, 2016 – Beach Bumming In Subic Beach, Sorsogon

Last May, me and my family had the chance to spend our summer escapades in this wonderful island of Calintaan. A worthy 2-hour ride from Legazpi City. We also bumped  in fish sanctuary @ Juac Island but we ain’t able to go at the Tikling island since the waves were huge at that time. Anyway, we still had enjoyed the island and nothing else is sweeter than having your family in an adventure. We will definitely come back.

June & July – Hiking Continue @ Mt. Maynuba, Mt. Cayabu & Mt. Batolusong

For the past 8 months, I’ve already hiked 10 mountains. Wooo! If you really wanted a challenge – partake yourself  in an adrenaline rush activity like hiking. Aside from witnessing magnificent landscapes, awesome sunrise & sunset and sea of clouds; hiking also has a lot of benefits  for the mind and body. And you only need to spend more or less 500 bucks.

Last June, we climbed Mt. Maynuba/Mt.Cayabu  in Tanay, Rizal. It was a newly opened mountain this year. To catch the sea of clouds you really have to start hiking at around 4-5am and I can assure you, it’s all worth it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The quest in witnessing sea of clouds continued at Mt. Batulosong last July 31. Unfortunately, we saw nothing but fog because of the typhoon approaching in the country. Despite of the weather, we still enjoyed the hike and made it to the top. Revenge climb soon.

Hike while you can!

July 15-18 – Ultimate Coron, Palawan Adventure

Aside from ticking off an item in my buckets, I could say Coron was one of my best adventures this year by far. Acknowledged as the best island in the world, seemed to be everyone’s dream come true  to bring their feet in the last biodiversity frontier in the world.

Palawan is really a must see and I’m really stoked to see El Nido soon(maybe next year). Witnessing the jaw-dropping white-bone beaches and gatorade-colored lakes, Coron really made me feel I was in the other side of the world called – paradise. If I would rank the places we’ve seen, my top-notch was Twin Lagoon, followed by Kayangan Lake then Malcapuya Island.

The original plan of our second day tour was to go to Caluit and Black Island but unfortunately, there were very few participants that day so we decided to pick the second option which was the Malcapuya, Bulog and Banana island; never failed to disappoint as well.

Source: Black Island, Busuanga

Some of the taken shots during our Coron adventure (c: NinLitao)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s it! I can’t wait to blog my next adventures in the remaining 4 months of 2016.

3 thoughts on “2016: Dawn of Grit 2.0

Leave a Reply

